If a teacher, what classes do you teach?

“I have been a History teacher for ten years. I coached wrestling for five years, track for seven, and football for 14. Ten here and 4 at my old high school A.L. Johnson.”

What college/university did you graduate from? When? What degree/s do you have?

“I graduated from Rutgers College, New Brunswick 2004, with a double major B.A. History and  B.A. Cultural Geography Minor in Archaeology.”

Who is your inspiration?

“I always look to my family for inspiration. During my life I was also fortunate to have some coaches and teachers push me in the right direction over the years. The best place to look for inspiration is in the people around you, everyday success stories are the best.”

Any future goals? What are they?

“I think goal-setting is an important part of life. You have to have personal and professional goals you work towards every day. Personally I try to be a good husband, son, and brother. I am also looking forward to becoming a dad. Professionally, I try to be a better teacher by learning from my mistakes, and I am almost finished with my M.A. in Education Administration, I would like to be a principal or Athletic Director one day.”

Do you have a favorite quote or phrase you live by? What is it?

I always look to my family for inspiration. During my life I was also fortunate to have some coaches and teachers push me in the right direction over the years. The best place to look for inspiration is in the people around you, everyday success stories are the best.

And there you have. Inside the life of Mr. Derillo!

